More violence in China’s Xinjiang, prominent academic indicted


Ilham Tohti

Ilham Tohti

China formally indicted a prominent ethnic Uighur professor for separatism on Wednesday, as security forces flooded into the far western region of Xinjiang amid more reports of violence following what the government called a terrorist attack.

Police in Beijing in January detained Ilham Tohti, a well-known economist who has championed the rights of the Muslim Uighur community, who come from Xinjiang.

He was subsequently taken to the regional capital Urumqi and accused of promoting and supporting Xinjiang’s independence from China, a red line for Beijing which views the region as an inseparable part of the country.

A brief statement on the official microblog of the Urumqi prosecutor said that Tohti’s case had been turned over to a city court, the next legal step needed before he can be put on trial.

It gave no details.

His wife has denied the allegations, and the case has attracted high-level concern in the United States and Europe.

The case against Tohti is the latest sign of the government’s hardening stance on dissent in Xinjiang, where unrest in the past year or so has killed more than 200, including several police, according to state media.

Western tourists saw a body lying in a pool of blood in a major Xinjiang city on Wednesday, as well as a heavy security presence after the government said dozens of knife-wielding attackers were shot dead elsewhere in the region earlier in the week.

State media said a gang armed with knives first attacked a police station and government offices on Monday in the town of Elixku, in Shache county, about 200 km (125 miles) from the old Silk Road city of Kashgar in China’s far west.

Some moved on to the nearby town of Huangdi, attacking civilians and smashing and setting fire to six vehicles, in what the official Xinhua news agency called an “organised and premeditated terrorist attack”.

“Police officers at the scene shot dead dozens of members of the mob,” the brief report said.

Xinjiang, home to many Turkic-language speaking Uighurs, has been beset by violence for years, which the government blames on Islamist militants or separatists who it says are bent on establishing an independent state called East Turkestan.

There were indications that unrest had spread by Wednesday to Kashgar, a popular tourist site especially during the summer.

A French traveller said he saw a body lying outside the Id Kah Mosque in Kashgar’s old town on Wednesday morning, and armed police pouring into the city by afternoon.

“We heard shouting and my friend saw two people running away with knives. Police came quickly and told people not to take pictures. They checked mobile phones,” he told Reuters by telephone.

He added that the reasons for the violence were unclear and he could not tell if those involved were Uighur or members of China’s majority Han ethnicity.

When leaving Kashgar on Wednesday, the traveller said a long convoy of armed police vehicles, including at least five armoured personnel carriers, drove into the city.

“All cars coming into Kashgar were being turned around,” he said.

“These were urban tanks with machine guns, not water cannon,” another European citizen accompanying him said.

State media only reported the attacks in Shache, also known by its Uighur name of Yarkant, late on Tuesday.

It is not clear why there was a delay, though China’s ruling Communist Party, which values stability above all else, has a habit of suppressing or delaying bad news.

Reuters could not reach the Xinjiang government for comment despite repeated attempts.

The government has yet to give a full account of what happened, or a death toll.

Exiled Uighur groups and human rights activists say the government’s repressive policies in Xinjiang, including controls on Islam, have provoked unrest, a claim Beijing denies.

China exercises tight control over Xinjiang, making visits by foreign reporters there to independently assess the situation extremely difficult.

Source: Reuters “More violence in China’s Xinjiang, prominent academic indicted”

Related posts:

  • China: Terrorist Attack Again in Xinjiang, Tens of Attackers Shot Dead by Police dated July 30, 2014
  • China sentences 55 in Xinjiang mass trial dated May 28, 2014
  • China launches crackdown on ‘terrorist activities’ after attack dated May 25, 2014
  • Blasts kill dozens at market in China’s restive Xinjiang region dated May 22, 2014
  • China Terrorists Killed 3, Injured 79 with Knives, Explosive at Urumqi Railway Station dated May 1, 2014
  • Knife Killing Sparks Panic All over China dated March 16, 2014
  • China: 27 dead, 109 injured in knife attack on Kunming railway station dated March 1, 2014

34 Comments on “More violence in China’s Xinjiang, prominent academic indicted”

  1. Kari says:

    I have been browsing online more than 3 hours these days,
    yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.
    It is lovely worth sufficient for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content material as you probably did, the
    net can be a lot more helpful than ever before.

    website (Kari)

    Like

  2. Laurie says:

    Very nice article, exactly what I needed.

    Like

  3. Hey there! I’ve been following your web site for a
    while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from Dallas Texas! Just wanted to say
    keep up the fantastic work!

    Like

  4. I wanted to thank you for this fantastic read!!

    I certainly loved every little bit of it.
    I have you saved as a favorite to check out new things you
    post…

    Like

  5. Agueda says:

    I got this web site from my pal who informed me
    on the topic of this site and now this time I am browsing this site and reading very informative
    content at this time.

    web page (Agueda)

    Like

  6. Zora says:

    I do agree with all the concepts you have presented for your post.

    They are very convincing and can certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for newbies. May just you please prolong them a bit from next time?
    Thank you for the post.

    webpage (Zora)

    Like

  7. Francesco says:

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this web site.
    He used to be entirely right. This submit
    truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how a lot time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

    web page (Francesco)

    Like

  8. hello there and thank you for your info ?I definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again soon..

    Like

  9. Nice Blog, thanks for sharing this kind of information.

    Like

  10. May I simply say what a relief to uncover somebody that genuinely understands what they’re
    talking about on the net. You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and make it
    important. More and more people need to look at this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised that you aren’t more popular given that you surely possess the gift.

    Like

  11. Hi, I read your new stuff daily. Your story-telling style
    is witty, keep it up!

    Like

  12. Its such as you learn my mind! You appear to grasp so much approximately this, like you wrote the guide in it or
    something. I think that you just could do with
    some p.c. to pressure the message house a bit, but other than that,
    this is excellent blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  13. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have remember your stuff previous to and
    you are just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve got
    right here, certainly like what you’re stating and the best way
    through which you assert it. You’re making it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to keep it sensible.
    I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a wonderful site.

    Like

  14. I get pleasure from, lead to I discovered just what I used
    to be taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt!
    God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

    Like

  15. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all people you really understand what you are speaking about!
    Bookmarked. Please additionally visit my website =). We can have a hyperlink exchange agreement among us

    Like

  16. I am really glad to glance at this weblog posts which contains lots of
    valuable data, thanks for providing these statistics.

    Like

  17. My relatives all the time say that I am wasting my time here
    at net, except I know I am getting experience daily by reading
    such fastidious articles or reviews.

    Like

  18. I know this site gives quality depending articles or reviews and extra information, is there any other web page
    which provides such data in quality?

    Like

  19. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the next!

    Like

  20. Good day I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like
    to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it
    and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up
    the fantastic work.

    Like

  21. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but
    instead of that, this is wonderful blog. A fantastic read.

    I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  22. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware
    of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly
    do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined
    out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

  23. Since the admin of this web site is working, no hesitation very quickly
    it will be renowned, due to its quality contents.

    Like

  24. It’s amazing in support of me to have a website, which is
    valuable in support of my experience. thanks admin

    Like

  25. Remarkable, totally great. Me only getting into quality writing articles by myself, practically nothing slightly near your own personal composing probable (ha! ) however I””d love that you can take my very own things someday!

    Like

  26. That is a very good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Short but very precise information… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

    Like

  27. Hi, Neat post. There’s an issue with your web site in internet explorer, may test this?
    IE still is the market leader and a large element of people will pass over your excellent writing due to this problem.

    Like

  28. Hello my loved one! I want to say that this article is awesome, great
    written and include almost all significant infos. I’d like to peer extra posts like this .

    Like

  29. Every weekend i used to visit this web site, for the reason that i wish for enjoyment,
    for the reason that this this site conations truly pleasant funny stuff too.

    Like

  30. magnificent post, very informative. I ponder why the other experts of this sector do not realize this.
    You must proceed your writing. I’m confident,
    you’ve a great readers’ base already!

    Like

  31. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an extremely long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say superb blog!

    Like

  32. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify
    me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment.
    Is there a way you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

    Like

  33. Can you tell us more about this? I’d like to find out more details.

    Like