China: Shanghai Free-Trade Zone to Be Launched on September 29


Shanghai's free-trade zone is set to open on Sunday in the Pudong area of the city. Photo: George Chen

Shanghai’s free-trade zone is set to open on Sunday in the Pudong area of the city. Photo: George Chen

According to CCTV, the State Council’s recent issue of the “General Scheme for China (Shanghai) Free-Trade Zone” marks the official launch of the pilot reform of Shanghai Free-Trade Zone.

The Scheme mentions that Shanghai Free-Trade Zone shall persist in giving priority to implementation and test in order to boost reform and development by opening-up and strive to establish within 2 to 3 years a pilot free trade zone with convenient investment and trade, free conversion of currency, highly efficient and expedient supervision and regulation and an environment regulated by the rule of law.

The Scheme raises the following requirements for the pilot zone. First, it shall speed up the transformation of government functions and promote improvement of government administration so that attention will be switched from examination and approval prior to matters to regulation during and after the matters. Second, it shall further intensify the opening-up of financial, shipping, trade and cultural service sectors and explore the establishment of management by negative list. Third, it shall deepen the pilot project of international trade settlement center to boost transformation of trade and upgrade international shipping service. Fourth, it shall speed up innovation in its financial system to set up a foreign exchange control system commensurate with the free trade zone so as to facilitate cross-border financing and promote the overall opening-up of financial service industry to private and foreign capital.

The Scheme points out that the Pilot Shanghai Free-Trade Zone is an experiment project to boost reform and upgrade open economy. Experience shall be gained that can be copied and popularized so as to set a positive example to bring along and serve the whole nation and finally boost joint development of various areas.

On the other hand, SCMP reveals some details of the free trade zone in its report today titled “Shanghai free-trade zone details revealed”, full text of which is given below:

China announced 18 new policy initiatives for its first free-trade zone in Shanghai, reducing restrictions on six key industries, including financial services and telecommunications.

The free-trade zone, to be officially launched on Sunday, is a major step to further liberate the world’s second largest economy. Chief Executive Leung Chun-ying on Friday called it an “irresistible trend”, but said it would not threaten Hong Kong’s position as an international financial centre.

The setting up of the free-trade zone is widely seen as one of the key reforms to be introduced under Xi Jinping’s leadership. But it remains uncertain how far the government is ready to go. Some of the boldest ideas – such as breaking the state monopoly over internet, data transmission and storage business – are still under discussion and may require special permission.

Premier Li Keqiang, the driving force behind the free-trade zone idea, is eager to see it as a testing ground for wider and deeper financial reforms. He earlier said the central government would copy the Shanghai model to the rest of the country if it proved to be successful. State media compared it to Deng Xiaoping’s creation of the Shenzhen Special Economic Zones some three decades ago.

Just like Deng, Li faced serious, at times open, resistance from entrenched interest groups.

Most of the new rules introduced on Friday have been reported earlier by the South China Morning Post, such as the further liberalisation of the foreign exchange regime in the special zone.

The Post on Wednesday also reported that Beijing is considering lifting a ban on internet access to Facebook, Twitter and news websites within the free-trade zone to attract foreign investors and professionals to the zone.

The idea seems to have run into resistance from the conservatives. The People’s Daily on Friday ran a commentary by a government researcher warning of the potential political risks such a move would entail. The article compared lifting the internet ban to the creation of “foreign settlements” in Shanghai under unequal treaties forced on China by imperial powers a century ago.

The article defended the need for internet controls and said “even if one day the free-trade zone does get rid of the [internet] firewall, it would be part of a synchronised effort by the country as a whole.”

“Undeniably, the importance of the firewall will gradually weaken until one day when it will be phrased out. But that will be the result of China’s growing overall strength and confidence, and … the balance of power between China and the US hegemony. It can not be forced.”

Among the key industries facing reduced restrictions is that of banking and financial services.

Beijing will allow foreign banks to skip long and often bureaucratic approving processes when setting up their wholly owned units in the free-trade zone.

It often took a few years for a foreign bank to first set up a symbolic representative office in China and then upgrade it to a full-service branch.

Peter Wong, chief executive of HSBC Asia Pacific said in a statement that the free-trade zone in Shanghai “will open a new phase in China’s financial reform process, bringing greater flexibility and fresh options to the heart of the world’s most dynamic economy.”

In August, Beijing gave final approval for Shanghai’s free-trade zone, which will span almost 29 square kilometres in the Pudong New Area of Shanghai, which includes the Waigaoqiao duty-free zone, Yangshan port and the international airport area. The Post reported the zone might eventually be expanded to cover the entire 1,210 square kilometre Pudong district if it proved to be a success.

Sources: SCMP “Shanghai free-trade zone details revealed”, CCTV “China (Shanghai) Pilot Free-Trade Zone Officially Launched” (translated from Chinese by Chan Kai Yee)


118 Comments on “China: Shanghai Free-Trade Zone to Be Launched on September 29”

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished
    to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    Like

  2. Hi there! This article could not be written much better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept preaching about this. I am going
    to forward this article to him. Pretty surfe hhe will have a great read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. You really make it seem really easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be actually something which I believe I’d never understand.
    It sort oof feels too complex and very extensive for me.

    I am looking forward in ykur subsequent post, I
    will try to get the dangle of it!

    Like

  4. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying foor a while but I never seem to get
    there! Appreciate it

    Like

  5. This site was…how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve founjd
    something which helped me. Cheers!

    Like

  6. I just could not depart yourr web site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard info
    an individual provide for your visitors? Is going to be again ceaselessly to inspect new
    posts

    Like

  7. Hi there, I discovered your blog via Google while lookiung for a comparable matter,
    your web ssite came up, it seems tto be great. I
    havve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply was alert to your blog thru Google, and located that it’s really informative.
    I’m gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll appreciqte when yoou continue this iin future.
    Lots of people might be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

    Like

  8. Salvete says:

    Hey! I’m at work browsing your blog from my
    new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading
    through your blog and lkok forward to alll your posts!

    Carry on the greeat work!

    Like

  9. stomatolog says:

    I like the valuable information you provide on your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check once more here regularly.
    I am reasonably sure I’ll be informed many new stuff proper right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    Like

  10. Adell Resner says:

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I to find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to offer something back and help others like you helped me.

    Like

  11. Thank you for every other informative blog. Where else may I am getting that kind of information writtten in such a perfect method?
    I’ve a challenge that I am just now working on, and I have bee on the glance out for such information.

    Like

  12. This is the perfect web site for anybody who would like
    to find out about this topic. You know a whole lot its
    almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a subject that has been discussed
    for many years. Wonderful stuff, just great!

    Like

  13. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here
    regularly. I am quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

    Like

  14. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the
    very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Regards!

    Like

  15. hai says:

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It
    really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to provide something back and aid others like you helped me.

    Like

  16. bookmarked!!, I love your website!

    Like

  17. I believe this is one of the such a lot vital information for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. However want to
    commentary on few common things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is in point of fact nice : D.
    Just right job, cheers

    Like

  18. This is a topic which is near to my heart… Best
    wishes! Where are your contact details though?

    Like

  19. Saved as a favorite, I like your web site!

    Like

  20. Your method of describing the whole thing in this article iis truly fastidious, all be
    able to effortlessly be aware of it, Thawnks a lot.

    Like

  21. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog annd look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the superb work!

    Like

  22. This is the right webpage for anyone who hopes to understand
    this topic. You realize so much its almost hard too argue with you (not that I personally will neerd to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a fresh spijn on a subject that has been written about
    for decades. Great stuff, just wonderful!

    Like

  23. Wondrful blog! Do yyou have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my owwn website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advvise starting with a frtee platform like
    Wordpress or goo for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally
    oveewhelmed .. Any recommendations? Cheers!

    Like

  24. monty.fr says:

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on. You’ve performe
    an impressive task aand our entire neighborhood shall be
    grateful to you.

    Like

  25. suebin.com says:

    I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting arrticle like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the net will bbe much more useful than ever before.

    Like

  26. Hi there just wanted to give you a brief heads up
    and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.

    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the
    same results.

    Like

  27. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend
    who has been doing a little research on this. And
    he in fact bought me lunch due to the fact that I stumbled upon it for him…
    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this matter here on your site.

    Like

  28. Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, very good blog!

    Like

  29. Generally I don’t read post on blogs, but I wish to say that
    this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do
    so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice post.

    Like

  30. Tesha says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Peugeot the Story.

    Regards

    Like

  31. Juliann says:

    I go to see daily a few blogs and blogs to read posts, however
    this weblog presents quality based posts.

    Like

  32. A lot of thanks for all your hard work during this web page. My mother really loves conducting internet research and it’s really simple to grasp why would you. My partner and i learn almost all regarding the compelling mode they create rewarding information by means of the web site and even inspire response caused from the others about this theme then our own child is without question starting to learn a great deal. Take pleasure in the rest of the new year. You have been conducting a glorious career.

    Like

  33. Maintain the excellent job !! Lovin’ it!|

    Like

  34. This is a topic which is near to my heart… Take care!
    Where are your contact details though?

    Like

  35. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to
    a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

  36. Hey there outstanding website! Does running a blog like this
    take a great deal of work? I’ve very little understanding of computer programming but I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyway, if you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off topic however I just wanted to ask.
    Thanks!

    Like

  37. I don’t even understand how I ended up here, however I believed this post was great.
    I don’t understand who you might be but certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger should you aren’t already.

    Cheers!

    Like

  38. Hannah says:

    Peculiar article, just what I was looking for.

    Like

  39. A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I believe that you need to write more about this subject matter, it may not be a
    taboo matter but typically people do not discuss these
    subjects. To the next! All the best!!

    Like

  40. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!

    Very helpful info particularly the closing phase 🙂 I deal with such information a lot.
    I was looking for this particular information for a long time.
    Thanks and good luck.

    Like

  41. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it,
    you could be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will
    come back at some point. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great work, have a
    nice weekend!

    Like

  42. Hello my family member! I want to say that
    this post is awesome, great written and come with approximately all important infos.
    I’d like to look extra posts like this .

    Like

  43. Christian says:

    I do not even know the way I ended up here, but I believed this publish was good.
    I do not recognize who you might be but certainly you’re
    going to a well-known blogger in the event you are not already.
    Cheers!

    Like

  44. Hi there, this weekend is pleasant in support of me, because this time i am reading this enormous informative paragraph here at my residence.

    Like

  45. News info

    I was reading the news and I saw this really interesting topic

    Like

  46. Hello there, I found your blog by way of Google whilst looking for a comparable
    matter, your web site came up, it seems
    great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply became aware of your weblog through Google, and located that it’s truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful
    in case you proceed this in future. A lot of other folks will
    be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Like

  47. Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand
    your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic.
    I really like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are saying and the way in which you say it.

    You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible.
    I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a great web site.

    Like

  48. Brianna says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Like

  49. I used to be able to find good advice from your content.

    Like

  50. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.

    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be
    interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I
    look forward to seeing it expand over time.

    Like

  51. chankaiyee2 says:

    I have published 2 books both with ebook version:

    Tiananmen’s Tremendous Achievements

    Space Era Strategy: The Way China Beats The U.S.

    Like

  52. I always emailed this web site post page to all my friends, for the reason that if like to read it then my links will
    too.

    Like

  53. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!
    wow gold http://www.wowruler.com

    Like

  54. You should take part in a contest for one of the finest sites on the net.
    I’m going to highly recommend this site!

    Like

  55. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve
    hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy I stumbled across this in my hunt for something regarding this.

    Like

  56. Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking the time and actual effort to generate a
    good article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t
    manage to get anything done.

    Like

  57. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Peugeot Guide.
    Regards

    Like

  58. Marylyn says:

    I every time spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s content
    everyday along with a mug of coffee.

    Like

  59. What’s up to every single one, it’s actually a nice for me to
    pay a quick visit this website, it consists of useful Information.

    Like

  60. Wow, incredible blog format! How long have you ever been running a blog
    for? you made blogging look easy. The total look of your website is great, as neatly
    as the content!

    Like

  61. I have fun with, cause I discovered just what I was having a look for.

    You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a
    great day. Bye

    Like

  62. you are truly a just right webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible.
    It seems that you are doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are
    masterwork. you’ve done a magnificent job in this topic!

    Like

  63. Frieda says:

    You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the best websites online.
    I am going to recommend this blog!

    Like

  64. We stumbled over here by a different web page and thought I might as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to exploring your web page
    again.

    Like

  65. Aw, this was a very good post. Taking the time and actual effort to make a superb article… but what can I say… I
    hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

    Like

  66. Shauna says:

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this post and also the
    rest of the site is extremely good.

    Like

  67. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or advice.

    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read more things about it!

    Like

  68. I was able to find good advice from your content.

    Like

  69. My brother recommended I may like this blog. He was once entirely right.
    This put up truly made my day. You cann’t believe just how
    much time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

    Like

  70. dad tips says:

    Its hard to find good help

    I am constantnly proclaiming that its hard to find good help, but here is

    Like

  71. I read this paragraph completely on the topic of the difference of newest and earlier technologies, it’s amazing article.

    Like

  72. What’s up, I log on to your blogs daily. Your humoristic style is witty, keep doing what you’re doing!

    Like

  73. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more
    of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

    Like

  74. I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your
    post’s to be precisely what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest
    writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write regarding here.
    Again, awesome web log!

    Like

  75. Awesome Site, Preserve the useful work. Appreciate it.

    Like

  76. Just Browsing

    While I was browsing today I saw a great post about

    Like

  77. Wikia

    Wika linked to this place

    Like

  78. Wikia

    Wika linked to this website

    Like

  79. Wikia

    Wika linked to this site

    Like

  80. Dreary Day

    It was a dreary day here today, so I just took to piddeling around on the internet and found

    Like

  81. Wikia

    Wika linked to this place

    Like

  82. ftm says:

    News info

    I was reading the news and I saw this really cool information

    Like

  83. Wikia

    Wika linked to this site

    Like

  84. Great delivery. Solid arguments. Keep up tҺе great spirit.

    Like

  85. Good article. I will be facing some of these issues as well..

    Like

  86. Just Browsing

    While I was browsing today I noticed a great article about

    Like

  87. Its hard to find good help

    I am regularly proclaiming that its difficult to find quality help, but here is

    Like

  88. You have noted very interesting points ! ps nice web site . “It is better to be hated for who you are than to be loved for what you are not.” by Andre Gide.

    Like

  89. click here says:

    Wikia

    Wika linked to this website

    Like

  90. chankaiyee2 says:

    Follow me at chankaiyee2, twitter or
    Open an account at wordpress.com to follow me at tiananmenstremendousachievements.wordpress.com.

    Like

  91. This is a topic which is close to my heart… Best wishes!

    Exactly where are your contact details though?

    Like

  92. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break.

    I really like the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, fantastic blog!

    Like

  93. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Like

  94. You’re so awesome! I do not think I have read through a single thing like that before. So wonderful to find another person with some genuine thoughts on this issue. Really.. thank you for starting this up. This site is one thing that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality!

    Like

  95. Thanks for another informative site. Where else could I get that kind of information written in such an ideal way? I have a project that I am just now working on, and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

    Like

  96. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent website. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will revisit once again since i have saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Like

  97. Dreary Day

    It was a dreary day here yesterday, so I just took to messing around online and found

    Like

  98. Yahoo results

    While searching Yahoo I found this page in the results and I didn’t think it fit

    Like

  99. Wikia

    Wika linked to this website

    Like

  100. Its hard to find good help

    I am constantnly saying that its difficult to find quality help, but here is

    Like

  101. I don’t even understand how I finished up right here, however I thought this put up was once
    good. I do not recognise who you’re however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in the event
    you aren’t already. Cheers!

    Like

  102. Informative and precise

    Its difficult to find informative and accurate information but here I noted

    Like

  103. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more
    enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer
    to create your theme? Superb work!

    Like

  104. Abel Guerro says:

    I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re incredible! Thanks!

    Like

  105. I have read some excellent stuff ɦere. Dеfinitely worth bookmarking
    fοr revisiting. I wopnder Һow mucɦ attempt ƴou place to maқe thіs kind of magnificent informative site.

    Like

  106. It truly is a shame you don’t possess a donate button! I’d most definitely donate to this exceptional blog! I suppose for now i am going to settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I glance forward to new updates and will talk relating to this site with my Facebook group. Talk shortly!

    Like

  107. Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe this amazing site needs a lot more attention. Ill probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the info!

    Like

  108. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do believe that you need to write more on this issue, it may not be a taboo matter but generally people dont discuss these subjects. To the next! Kind regards!

    Like

  109. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

    Like

  110. Chet Barton says:

    Me as well, two practice wrecks…the dude using the cap is actually a perfect 10 around the “wreck scale”.

    Like

  111. You’ve made some really good points there. I checked on the net to find out more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site. pirater un compte facebook

    Like