Jane’s Defence Weekly: China Making 148 Aircrafts p.a. Mostly Advanced Fighters


China enters the era of 3.5-generation fighter jet with the commissioning of J-10B fighter jet

China enters the era of 3.5-generation fighter jet with the commissioning of J-10B fighter jet

J-18 stealth bomber, a hot topic of foreign media

J-18 stealth bomber, a hot topic of foreign media

UK Jane’s Defence Weekly publishes in its December 4 issue an article titled “Aiming High: China’s Air Ambition” as a year-end summary of China’s quick progress in developing military aircrafts.

China has been replacing its outdated J-7 and J-8 fighters with fourth-generation J-10s and J-11s, the production lines of which are operating at full capacity. As a result, the percentage of advanced fighters has increased greatly since 2007 though the number of fighters has decreased from 1,500 in 2007 to 1,300 now.

Since 2011, China has successfully carried out maiden flights of 7 new types of aircrafts including two types of fifth-generation fighter jets.

In 2012, China produced 148 aircrafts for its navy, army and air force. Top priority was given to the production of J-20 and J-31 stealth fighter jets in 2011. Now, J-10 is the most important fighter project in China’s air force including its more advanced version J-10B. The report says that J-10B sets example for China’s upgrading of its fighter jets. It is China’s first fighter that uses phased array radar. In addition, there has been improvement in its air inlet and remote sensors and electronic war capacity.

Photos of series production of J-10B have been posted on the Internet, but there has not yet been official news of the commissioning of J-10B in Chinese air force.

The report expects that there will be 600 fighter jets of J-10 family in service. Moreover, J-11B is now being developed smoothly though previously lots of problems have been encountered in its development. It uses China’s homegrown WS-10A turbofan engines. At least 4 air force regiments are equipped with J-11Bs

J-11B has subsystems with enhanced performance, a strengthened fuselage with synthetic material, improved fire control radar and a new flight control system.

It is said that PLA navy has been equipped with J-10B since 2010.

Enhancing Air-to-Surface Attack Capability

Chinese air force is now being turned from an air defense force to a force capable of both attack and defense. The article says that China is making efforts to improve its renaissance, early warning and strategic bombing capability and strive to build up a modern strategic air force. In 2013, Chinese aviation industry are making progress in carrying out projects of 9 combat aircraft including the production of H-6K bomber, JH-7A fighter-bomber and J-10A and J-11B fighter jets and the development of J-10B, J-15, J-16, J-20 and J-31 multi-purpose fighter jets with fairly strong air-to-surface attack capability.

In addition to combat aircrafts, China has made breakthroughs in developing transport and early warning aircrafts. Maiden flight of Y-20 transport was carried out in January 2013. It has in addition developed a medium-sized transport Y-9 and KJ-200, KJ-2000 and ZDK-03 AEW&Cs.

Weak Points in Some Key Areas

China is weak in engine production and has to import engines for its aircrafts. In addition, it has a great shortage of supporting aircrafts such as transport helicopters, strategic transport aircrafts, and renaissance and refueling aircrafts.

Source: Global Times “UK magazine: China building two types of fighter jets with full capacity, turning out 148 aircrafts this year” (summary by Chan Kai Yee based on the report in Chinese)


102 Comments on “Jane’s Defence Weekly: China Making 148 Aircrafts p.a. Mostly Advanced Fighters”

  1. Swen says:

    Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article. I like to write a little comment to support you.

    Like

  2. You should be a part of a contest for one of the greatest sites on the net.
    I am going to recommend this web site!

    Like

  3. Hi there everyone, it’s my first goo to see at
    this site, and paragraph is really fruitful for me, keep up posting such content.

    Like

  4. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to
    know a lot about this, such ass you wrote the bbook in iit
    or something. I feel that you just can do witfh some
    p.c. to power the messwage home a little bit, but
    other than that, this is magnificent blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  5. Hi, I do think this is a great blog. I stumbledupo it 😉 I
    may revisi yet again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the bedst
    way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

    Like

  6. Yes! Finally something about advokatska kancelarija.

    Like

  7. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on advokatska kancelarija.
    Regards

    Like

  8. Post writing is also a excitement, if you be acqhainted wiyh afterward you can write if not it
    is complex to write.

    Like

  9. Hi there, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this article.
    It was helpful. Keep oon posting!

    Like

  10. Hi there, its good post concerning media print, we all
    be familiar with media is a wonderful sourcxe of data.

    Like

  11. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it
    seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just
    posting videos to your blog when you could be giving us
    something informative to read?

    Like

  12. Hurrah! At last I got a weblog from where I can inn fact
    obtain helpful facts concerrning mmy study and knowledge.

    Like

  13. It’s remarkable for me to have a web site, which is helpful in favor of my know-how.
    thanks admin

    Like

  14. Hi, its good piece of writing regarding media print, we
    all be familiar with media is a great source of facts.

    Like

  15. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but
    good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much moire or understanding more.
    Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for thhis info for my mission.

    Like

  16. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment.

    I believe that you should publish more on this issue, it may not be a taboo subject but typically people don’t discuss such subjects.
    To the next! All the best!!

    Like

  17. This is my first time pay a visit at here aand i am genuinely impressed to read all at one place.

    Like

  18. Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a data!
    present here at this webpage, thanks admin off this web site.

    Like

  19. Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The
    clearness in your post is just nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to ggrab your
    RSS feed to keep up tto date with forthcoming post. Thanks a millio and
    please keep up the gratifyibg work.

    Like

  20. Verry good information. Lucky me I found your website by chance (stumbleupon).

    I have saved it for later!

    Like

  21. This is a very good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Shoort but very precise information… Appreciate
    your sharing this one. A musst read article!

    Like

  22. I used to be able to find good information from your blog articles.

    Like

  23. Hi! I’ve been following your web site for a while now and finally
    got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent job!

    Like

  24. You really make it appear relly easy together with your presentation but I in finding this matter to be really one thing which I feel I would by no means understand.
    It srt of feels too complrx and very huge for me. I’m
    looking ahead in your next submit, I’ll try to get
    the dangle of it!

    Like

  25. This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great
    post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

    Like

  26. That is very interesting, You’re a very professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to looking for more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I have shared your site in my social networks

    Like

  27. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!

    Like

  28. great publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this.
    You must proceed your writing. I am confident, you’ve a great
    readers’ base already!

    Like

  29. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you
    would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy
    reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    Like

  30. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit
    and sources back to your webpage? My blog site is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thank you!

    Like

  31. I always used to study post in news papers but now as I am a user of web
    therefore from now I am using net for content, thanks to web.

    Like

  32. What’s up i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere, when i read this post i thought i could also create comment due to this
    brilliant post.

    Like

  33. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this
    website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz answer back as I’m looking to construct my
    own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks a lot

    Like

  34. Hi there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you
    using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform.
    I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good
    platform.

    Like

  35. I do agree with all of the ideas you have introduced on your post.
    They are really convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are very
    short for novices. May you please lengthen them a bit from subsequent time?
    Thanks for the post.

    Like

  36. Good way of telling, and pleasant paragraph to take facts on the topic of my presentation subject matter,
    which i am going to present in university.

    Like

  37. What’s up colleagues, nice post and nice urging commented here, I am in fact enjoying by these.

    Like

  38. I just like the valuable info you provide for your articles.

    I will bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here regularly.
    I am relatively sure I’ll be told a lot of new stuff right here!

    Best of luck for the following!

    Like

  39. Fantastic site you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about in this
    article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get
    comments from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thank you!

    Like

  40. Yes! Finally someone writes about news.

    Like

  41. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox
    and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same
    comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thank you!

    Like

  42. We are a bunch of volunteers and starting a brand
    new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You have done an impressive
    job and our entire neighborhood might be grateful to you.

    Like

  43. Good day! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate!

    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  44. Superb, what a webpage it is! This webpage presents valuable information to us, keep it up.

    Like

  45. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

    Like

  46. Hi there, this weekend is nice in support of me, as this
    moment i am reading this great educational piece of writing here at my house.

    Like

  47. Hi, I do think this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will return yet again since i have
    saved as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the best
    way to change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

    Like

  48. great issues altogether, you simply gained a new reader.

    What may you recommend in regards to your submit that you just
    made some days in the past? Any certain?

    Like

  49. 11 zack zoey says:

    Thank you for some other excellent post. The place else may just anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect
    method of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and
    I am on the search for such info.

    Like

  50. What’s up mates, how is everything, and what you would like
    to say on the topic of this post, in my view its
    actually remarkable for me.

    Like

  51. I visit daily a few web pages and sites to read articles or reviews, but this blog offers feature based posts.

    Like

  52. Great article! That is the type of information that
    should be shared across the web. Disgrace on Google for now not positioning
    this publish upper! Come on over and consult with my site .
    Thank you =)

    Like

  53. I blog quite often and I genuinely thank you for your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new information about once per week.
    I subscribed to your Feed too.

    Like

  54. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Bless you

    Like

  55. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about books. Regards

    Like

  56. Whats up very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful
    .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I am satisfied to seek out numerous helpful information here within the put up, we
    need develop more techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

    Like

  57. Hello, I want to subscribe for this weblog
    to take most recent updates, therefore where can i do it please assist.

    Like

    • chankaiyee2 says:

      Open an account at wordpress.com. Enter wordpress.com. Choose Reader at the left side of the top row. Add me to the blog you follow at “The blog I follow” in Reader column.

      Like

  58. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!

    Very useful information specially the remaining section 🙂 I care for such
    information much. I used to be looking for this particular
    info for a very lengthy time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

  59. Very good information. Lucky me I ran across your website by accident (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book-marked it for later!

    Like

  60. excellent points altogether, you just received a new reader.
    What could you recommend about your publish that you simply
    made a few days in the past? Any positive?

    Like

    • chankaiyee2 says:

      It depends on what you are interested in. Most of my posts are about China. I am going to write about my personal successful experience in dieting with ease and maintaining good health, but am afraid that the post may be too long.

      Like

  61. you’re actually a just right webmaster. The website loading
    pace is amazing. It seems that you’re doing any distinctive trick.
    Also, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve performed a
    great task in this matter!

    Like

  62. Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads
    a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good internet hosting provider at a honest price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

    Like

  63. Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same
    niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a extraordinary job!

    Like

  64. Wow, this post is fastidious, my sister is analyzing these things, therefore I am going to
    let know her.

    Like

  65. Hi to all, the contents existing at this web page are in fact remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep
    up the nice work fellows.

    Like

  66. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home
    a little bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful
    blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  67. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My website is in the very same area of interest
    as yours and my users would truly benefit from a lot of the information you
    present here. Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks!

    Like

  68. Hi there, I want to subscribe for this webpage to
    get hottest updates, therefore where can i do it please help
    out.

    Like

    • chankaiyee2 says:

      Open an account at wordpress.com. Enter wordpress.com. Choose Reader at the left side of the top row. Add me to the blog you follow at “The blog I follow” in Reader column.

      Like

  69. Hi, this weekend is pleasant designed for me, since this point in time i am reading this enormous educational paragraph here at my
    house.

    Like

  70. Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?

    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Cheers

    Like

  71. For the reason that the admin of this web site is working,
    no uncertainty very quickly it will be renowned, due to its
    quality contents.

    Like

  72. I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted
    at this site is really nice.

    Like

  73. Hello to all, how is all, I think every one is getting
    more from this web page, and your views are fastidious in favor of new viewers.

    Like

  74. That is very fascinating, You’re an overly skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to in the hunt for extra of your wonderful post.

    Additionally, I have shared your site in my social networks

    Like

  75. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look
    of your web site is fantastic, let alone the content!

    Like

  76. Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this site, and post is in fact fruitful in support of me, keep up posting
    such content.

    Like

  77. Can you tell us more about this? I’d like to find out some additional information.

    Like

  78. Karl Y. Reap says:

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post.
    Thanks for supplying this information.

    Like

  79. My family members all the time say that I
    am killing my time here at net, but I know I am getting knowledge everyday by reading thes fastidious posts.

    Like

  80. What’s up to all, because I am truly eager of reading this
    weblog’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It includes nice material.

    Like

  81. Hi to every one, it’s genuinely a pleasant for me to pay a
    quick visit this web site, it consists of precious
    Information.

    Like

  82. First of all I would like to say superb blog!
    I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear
    your thoughts prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my mind
    in getting my thoughts out there. I do enjoy writing
    but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Cheers!

    Like

  83. Cool blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Bless you

    Like

  84. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo
    News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Appreciate it

    Like

  85. Keep on working, great job!

    Like

  86. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will
    come back later in life. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great writing, have a nice afternoon!

    Like

  87. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is
    written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble.

    You’re amazing! Thanks!

    Like

  88. I love what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of
    clever work and reporting! Keep up the very good works guys
    I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

    Like

  89. I like the valuable information you supply on your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly.
    I am moderately sure I will learn many new stuff proper here!
    Best of luck for the following!

    Like

  90. Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me
    of my good old room mate! He always kept talking
    about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like